Facebook LinkedIn Instagram X Vimeo WeChat WhatsApp YouTube

2018 New Zealand Hi-Tech Awards – Finalists Announced

A record number of people gathered across Auckland, Christchurch and Wellington today to hear the finalists in the 2018 NZ Hi-Tech Awards announced.

Entries this year have come in from right across the country and this is reflected in the line up of finalists this year, according to Jen Rutherford, Chair of the Hi-Tech Trust, who says the standard of entries is the highest ever seen in the history of the Awards.

 “This year’s finalists span the full spectrum of the hi-tech sector and the country. For 2018 we have made a really big push to ensure even greater diversity across the board and it’s great to see so many areas of the country represented, as well as a huge increase in the number of finalists led by women. The number of finalists with female CEO’s has almost doubled year-on-year. Whilst we are not there yet, we are moving in the right direction. Our industry is truly in great shape,” says Rutherford

Several of the local judges have commented that the quality of the entrants is at an all-time high this year. They predict that the next phase of judging will prove even more challenging as they select the winners from such a strong pool of finalists.

The local judges are joined by a world class line up of international judges that include Bill Reichert,  Pascal Finette, Rohit Shukla, Savannah Peterson, Dr Catherine Mohr, Claudia Batten, Dr Rosie Boswoth, Rebekah Campbell, Katherine Corich, Pat Kenealy, Richard Keyse, Nick Lambert and Andy Lark.

 “We are truly thankful to all our judges both here in New Zealand and around the world who give of their own time to assist us with judging. The Hi-Tech Awards continue to be the New Zealand technology industries most important celebration of success and a wonderful showcase for our innovation and talent. Following a sell-out crowd last year, we fully anticipate the same for the 2018 Gala Dinner, which will be held at the Horncastle Arena in Christchurch on 25 May,” says Rutherford.


The 2018 Hi-Tech Awards finalists are:

PwC Hi-Tech Company of the Year


Coretex Hi-Tech Emerging Company of the Year


New Zealand Venture Investment Fund (NZVIF) Hi-Tech Start-Up Company of the Year


IBM Most Inspiring Individual Award


Callaghan Innovation Best Maori Innovation Award


Duncan Cotterill Most Innovative Hi-Tech Software Solution Award


Kiwibank Most Innovative Hi-Tech Services Award


Endace Most Innovative Hi-Tech Hardware Product Award


Quick Circuit Best Contribution to the NZ Tech Sector by an Internationally Headquartered Company


NZTE Most Innovative Hi-Tech Solution for the Agritech Sector


Xero Hi-Tech Young Achiever


ATEED Most Innovative Hi-Tech Solution for the Creative Sector


Visa Most Innovative Hi-Tech Solution for the Public Good

Back to News