Facebook LinkedIn Instagram X Vimeo WeChat WhatsApp YouTube

2017 Finalists Announced

A record number of people gathered across Auckland, Christchurch and Wellington to hear the finalists announced for the 2017 NZ Hi-Tech Awards.

Entries this year came from as far afield as Kaitaia and Invercargill which have resulted in a record number of entries being received, up 30% on last year. Wayne Norrie, Chair of the Hi-Tech Trust, says the standard of entries is the highest ever seen in the history of the Awards.

 “This year’s finalists span the full spectrum of the hi-tech sector and the country. It’s great to see so many areas of the country represented. Some amazing new companies have made an appearance in the 2017 Awards and it’s so exciting to see so many entries in the Start-Up and Young Achiever categories – Our industry is truly in great shape” says Norrie.

Several of the local judges have commented that the quality of the entrants is at an all-time high this year. They predict that the next phase of judging will prove even more challenging as they select the winners from such a strong pool of finalists.

The local judges are joined by a world class line up of international judges that include Gary Hamel,  Pascal Finette, Linda Jenkinson, Rohit Shukla, Savannah Peterson, Dr Catherine Mohr, Claudia Batten, Michael Boustridge, Katherine Corich, Erik Dijkstra, Pat Kenealy, Richard Keyse, Nick Lambert and Andy Lark.

 “We are truly thankful to all our judges both here in New Zealand and around the world who give of their own time to assist us with judging. The Hi-Tech Awards continue to be the New Zealand technology industries most important celebration of success and a wonderful showcase for our innovation and talent, following a sell out crowd last we fully anticipate the same for 2017 Gala Dinner which will be held at the ANZ Viaduct Events Centre, Auckland on 12th May,” says Norrie. 

The 2017 Hi-Tech Awards finalists are:

PwC Hi-Tech Company of the Year

  • ARANZ Geo
  • Invenco
  • Pushpay Holdings
  • Serko
  • Vend
  • Xero 

Coretex Hi-Tech Emerging Company of the Year

  • Figured
  • Harmoney
  • Link Engine Management
  • SilverStripe
  • Timely

New Zealand Venture Investment Fund (NZVIF) Hi-Tech Start-Up Company of the Year

  • AskNicely
  • Dexibit
  • Latipay
  • Performance Lab
  • homes.co.nz

IBM Most Innovative Company 

  • Auror
  • Pushpay
  • RedShield Security
  • Simplicity

Callaghan Innovation Maori Innovation Award

  • Biolytix
  • Navilluso
  • Origins Software
  • Pango Productions

Duncan Cotterill Innovative Hi-Tech Software Product

  • Auror
  • Moxion
  • RedShield Security
  • Spotlight Reporting

Kiwibank Hi-Tech Innovative Services Award

  • MyBitcoinSaver
  • Navilluso Medical
  • RedShield Security
  • Snowball Effect

Endace Innovative Hi-Tech Hardware Product

  • Adherium
  • DARC Technologies
  • Shotover Camera Systems 

Quick Circuit Innovative Hi-Tech Mobile Product

  • beweb
  • oDocs Eye Care
  • Motim Technologies

NZTE Innovative Agritech Product

  • Compac
  • Figured
  • PPP Industries
  • StockX

Xero Hi-Tech Young Achiever

  • Aleisha Amohia
  • Jamie Beaton
  • Kendall Flutey
  • Aleisha Staples

ATEED Best technology for the Creative Sector

  • Dexibit
  • Moxion
  • Shotover Camera Systems
  • Shuttlerock

Qual IT Best technology for the Public Sector

  • Auror
  • Dexibit
  • Orion Health


Back to News