A NZ Hi-Tech Award is one of the technology sector’s most sought-after accolades. They have been awarded over the years to New Zealand’s most successful high-tech companies, and highest achieving individuals.

The VSI Electronics Excellence Awards were launched in 1994 to reward the success of New Zealand’s growing technology sector and help give the industry a voice. They have since evolved into the NZ Hi-Tech Awards, becoming a platform for all of our technology industries: ICT, electronics, software, biotechnology, creative, telecommunications and digital media.

The Awards programme, administered by the NZ Hi-Tech Trust, promotes the sector as a leading contributor to New Zealand’s economy and export success, and enjoys the support and input of our highly successful technology industries.


The Awards

The NZ Hi-Tech Awards celebrate New Zealand’s most successful high-tech companies and highest achieving individuals. Originally launched in 1994 as the VSI Electronics Excellence Awards, they have since evolved into a platform for recognising the best all of our technology industries: ICT, electronics, software, biotechnology, creative, telecommunications and digital media.

The year-long Awards calendar has several events that showcase and provide networking opportunities for New Zealand technology companies. We hope to put talented Kiwis well and truly in the spotlight, promote our high-tech successes, and extend our profile beyond the technology sector.

Winners include companies such as:

  • Vista Group
  • 90 Seconds
  • Serato
  • Movio
  • Datacom
  • AfterMail
  • Fisher & Paykel Healthcare
  • Navman
  • Neuren Pharmaceuticals
  • Orion Systems
  • Compac Sorting Equipment
  • Endace
  • Xero
  • Rakon
  • Right Hemisphere
  • Tait Electronics

and individuals such as:

  • Katherine Corich
  • Sam Morgan
  • Sir Angus Tait
  • Rod Drury
  • Neville Jordan
  • Selwyn Pellett
  • Ian Taylor
  • Dennis Chapman
  • Sir Peter Maire
  • Sir Gil Simpson
  • Paul Hargreaves
  • Brent Robinson
  • Sir Ken Stevens
  • Bill Buckley

An industry snapshot

The New Zealand technology sector is the fastest growing sector in the country with almost 29,000 companies generating close to $9 billion in revenue.

The hi-tech industry is the third largest export earner in the country, generating over $6.3 billion in export revenue in the 2015-16 financial year.

It comprises of almost 29,000 New Zealand companies across the electronics, software, telecommunications, creative technology and biotechnology sectors.

The industry employs more than 57,000 people and the sector is growing at twice the rate of the economy as a whole. An increasing number of companies are listing on the stock exchange both locally and internationally.

The NZ Hi-Tech Trust

The NZ Hi-Tech Trust was established in 2009 to advance the growth and success of New Zealand's hi-tech industries through an awards and education programme.

All profits generated by the Awards programme are reinvested by Trust to ensure the continuance of the programme and to benefit the long-term development of the industries it supports.

The current NZ Hi-Tech Trust trustees are: